Month: December 2012

  • Des Moines Best Food – the last five years

    Some folks have asked us about our annual picks for the top food achievements in Des Moines. We have not repeated winners. We think that applies to the design awards too, tho obviously some architects have won more than once they would all tell you that the client is the artist, they are just the facilitator. I could only find five previous years of awards. That’s all James Beard includes, so we will stick with their rules.  

    07, 08, 09, 10, 11,12

     
    Best New Restaurant – Dos Rios, Django, BOS, Baru66, Wasabi Chi, Louie’s Wine Dive
     
     
    Chef of the Year – George Formaro, Enosh Kelley, Troy Trostel, David Baruthio, Dom Iannarelli, Sean Wilson
     
     
    Rising Star – Scott Stroud, Jesus Ojeda, Anthony Johnson- Jed Hoffman, Anthony Newburg, Brea Ann Leighton, Jessica Dunn
     
    Restaurant of the Year – Lucca, Bistro Montage, Alba, La Mie, Baru66, Proof
     
    Best New Design (awarded annually since 2010) – Alba (GE Wattier), Americana (Dan Hunt), Exile (Slingshot, formerly GE Wattier)
     
  • Blue Christmas, no turkey

    Christmas dive

    The first Christmas after I’d lost my mom, my dog and my long time partner, I wasn’t up for much. I could barely remember a holiday without any of them. Several kindhearted friends and some folks I barely knew had asked me to spend the day with their families. I couldn’t think of anything I wanted to do less, so I told them all that I was going out of town.              

    That wasn’t so much a lie as overly wishful thinking. I didn’t even really mind when travel plans didn’t pan out. I wasn’t going to be good company. I figured I’d just cook a turkey for myself. Then that idea became depressing. Without even a dog around, I’d end up cooking all day to produce one meal plus a lot of stock. So I forgot to buy a bird. Then on Christmas Day, Facebook friends posted photos of their feasts, and I started salivating for turkey.

    I couldn’t go places where I might run into someone who might mention seeing me to the folks who thought I was out of town. So I drove to a part of the city where I was pretty sure no one would know me. All I found open was an old dive bar that seemed appropriate for my mood. Inside, hardcore barflies seemed as cheerless as I. Moreso, as it turned out.

    “Blue Christmas” played over and over. Everybody had a bitch or two — mostly about family, lawyers and the DHS (Department of Human Services). One guy said his wife had run off with his brother. If he found out where they were, he planned to kill them as a Christmas present to himself. Two different women said they couldn’t contact their children, even on Christmas, because the DHS had given them to their wife-beating husbands.

    After a few rounds of drinks, I no longer gave a shit about blowing my cover. I invited all my new best friends to Prairie Meadows for turkey dinner — on me. There were no takers. Everyone looked away and quit talking to me. I realized that I had turned into the people I’d been hiding from. Worse, I’d violated the unwritten bond that indulges melancholy souls.

    “You’ve had too much to drink, son,” the bartender said to me. “It’s time for you to go back where you belong, wherever the hell that is.”

  • Bubba skinny

    Details on Bubba, Chris Diebel’s pop up restaurant coming in January to Hoyt Sherman Place with Scott Stroud as chef 


    FIRST COURSE choose one

    Shrimp & Grits: Anson Mills grits, white Maytag cheddar, smoked paprika

    Smoked Brisket- sweet potato hash, Maker’s Mark BBQ sauce

    Fried Green Tomatoes- herb oil, buttermilk dipping sauce, arugula

    Cocktail Pairing: Mint Julep

    SECOND COURSE choose one

    Gumbo- chicken, shrimp & Andouille sausage

    Butternut Squash Bisque – topped with torched marshmallow

    Bubba Salad- Poached pears, bacon, goat cheese, mixed greens, candied walnuts & sherry vinaigrette

    Cocktail Pairing: Texas Lemonade

    THIRD COURSE choose one

    Sweet Tea Braised Pork- collared greens, black eyed peas, braising jus

    Seafood Pirlau- Texas red beans and rice, blackened catfish, scallops, clams, and shrimp

    Chicken & Waffles- bacon waffles, buttermilk fried chicken, bourbon sweet potato puree & gravy

    Chile Rellano- sweet corn succotash stuffed poblano pepper and red eye gravy

    Cocktail Pairing: Prohibition Sweet Tea

    FOURTH COURSE choose one

    Peach Cobbler- Vanilla bean Gelato

    Brown Butter Financier Cake- Hazelnut Gelato

    Almond & White Chocolate Bread Pudding- Cherry Gelato

    Cocktail Pairing: Hot Buttered Rum

    LIVE MUSIC NIGHTLY!

    Seedlings Thurs, 1/10

    Thankful Dirt Fri, 1/11

    Zach Harper Sat, 1/12

    Four Course Dinner: $60/guest

    Four Course Dinner with Cocktail Pairings: $75/guest

    (includes tax and gratuity)